This site tracks conflict line related incidents and security developments of Georgia’s breakaways Abkhazia and South Ossetia, which are de facto occupied by Russia. Thematic pages on detentions, borderization and checkpoint regimes (Abkhazia, South Ossetia) provide a chronological overview on incidents near the Administrative Boundary Line (ABL) and additional backgrounds. The territorial conflict near Chorchana and Tsnelisi (South Ossetia) has its own dedicated page. The expansion of Russian military infrastructure in South Ossetia and Abkhazia since 2009 has been described. This infrastructure facilitates Russian (occupation) forces and enforcement of the boundary lines, repressing the lives of thousands of (Georgian) villagers.

Note: Mapped incidents are based on open source information and are by no means complete. The locations are best estimates.

Map loading, please wait ...

Humanitarian impact

Russian or South Ossetian/Abkhazian “border guards” arrest and detain many (Georgian) civilians around the ABL for “illegally crossing the border”, having to pay a large fine as ransom. “Borderization” of various sections of the ABL takes place since 2013, mostly in the populated southern section of the ABL between Tbilisi controlled territory and South Ossetia. “Borderization” is the construction of barriers such as fences, barbed wire, trenches and placing border signs. In this way, Russia tries to transform the internal administrative (regional) boundary line into an “official (international) border”.

Borderization causes separation of villages and communities, while severely restricting freedom of movement of civilians to their farmland or relatives. Aside from the human rights consequences, borderization is also psychological and intimidating. Every incident continues to arouse public outcry in the entire Georgian nation. It works as hybrid warfare.

Russian occupation or defending “independent states”?

Since the August 2008 Russian-Georgian war the Russian Federation occupies the Georgian breakaway regions Abkhazia and South Ossetia (called Tskhinvali region by the Georgian authorities). Russia recognized the self-declared independence of Abkhazia and South Ossetia in 2008 to circumvent the 6-point ceasefire agreement and legitimize its continued troop presence.

The agreement stipulated Russian troops “to withdraw to the lines held prior to the outbreak of hostilities”. By recognizing the two regions as independent states, Moscow considered them not part of Georgia and the 6-point agreement conditions not applicable, “protecting independent states”. Internationally, the breakaways have only been recognized by a handful Kremlin friendly states: Venezuela, Nicaragua, Syria and Nauru.